Bison Safaris

26 reviews
Reviews: 26
Tour packages: 15 tours
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Photos: 61
Main focus: Budget
Established: 2009
Headquarters: Kenya
Languages: English, Spanish

Offers tours in


Contact info

About Bison Safaris

With an initial concentration and interest on the Local market, Bison Safaris started humbly in June 2009 with an office in Nairobi, Kenya. We have the resources and hands-on experience to guide you through the wide array of destination possibilities. We arrange custom-designed specialized tours for many clients as well as offer accommodation, city-breaks, group tours, regional and domestic flights, fly-drive packages, , excursions and transfers for the individual traveler. KEY POINT TO NOTE Hotel Rates and Availability are subject to change with or without prior notice. and guarantee on availability is by making prepayment through Bison Safaris and getting a confirmation back on same through writing . RESERVATIONS POINTS TO NOTE A 30% deposit is required for booking to guarantee your reservation and Balance payment at least 35 days before date of travel . If date of travel falls below or within 35 days full payment is required. Payments can be made by: Bank Wire Transfer OR Credit Cards ( Visa & Master Card only Via PayPal ) CANCELLATIONS Any monies paid will be refunded on early cancellation, less the cost of cancellation fees levied by hotels or lodges Booking fees and bank charges are non refundable. Bookings canceled or reduced in length of stay or reduced in number of occupancy are subject to cancellation and no show fees as follows: Between 60 and 45 days prior to arrival - 35% of tour costs Between 44 and 16 days - 50% of tour costs Less than 16 days - 100% of tour costs. In all cases, notifications of cancellation is to be put in writing to Bison Safaris. RATES Tour cost includes: all expenses in respect of vehicle and driver as per itinerary, Meals on safari and if any meal after Safari if the itinerary has same , entrance fees to national parks and reserves and flying doctors cover for the duration of the safari . Exchange rate: Rates are based on current rate and should the exchange rate vary, Bison Safaris reserves the right to adjust these rates accordingly from the date of such variations. Government taxes: Rates are inclusive of all taxes where applicable. In case of any increase or decrease or introduction of new taxes, Bison Safaris will adjust these rates based on the variations. Holiday supplements: Rates do not include any holiday supplement where applicable i.e Easter, Christmas, New Year e.t.c Children's policy: Child rate only applies to children aged between 2 to12 years. Travel Insurance cover is not included in your price, we however urge you to take insurance covering you against loss and damage as well as medical insurance. CHECK IN TIME / CHECK OUT TIME Check in time is from 1200 noon on the expected arrival date. Check out time is 1000am on the departure date. Extra cost apply for early check in or late check out and the cost will vary from hotel to hotel. Hotels do have different conditions on this and please reconfirm at time of booking. Day room use can be arranged at extra cost and check out time is at 1800hrs. TRANSPORT Will be provided as per quotation. The right is reserved to employ the service of sub - contractors if need arise. English speaking driver/ guide are provided. Other language speaking driver/guides are provided on request and subject to availability. TOUR ALTERATIONS The company ensures to adhere with the program as arranged, however, it reserves the right to alter the arrangements or cancel the operation of tour if serious need arises, but will inform agent / client before action. Such cases may be caused by airline cancellation, hotel problems, political tension, weather i.e rainfall on game areas, tracks, airstrips or any other bookings problem that affects the program. The company also reserves the right to decline to accept or retain any person as a member of the tour at any time, in which case an equitable amount will be refunded. LIABILITY The company and its agents act as agents of the passenger in all matters relating to hotel / lodge accommodation, transport, tours etc. and shall not be liable for injury, delays, loss or damage in any manner. The laws of the country in which the tour takes place and no other country govern the company’s liability to passengers carried in its own vehicles. All claims are subject to the jurisdiction of the courts of the country in which the action arises. The company reserves the right to employ sub-contractors for all or part of the services. The company cannot be held responsible for loss or damage of luggage. TRAVEL DOCUMENTS / HEALTH /YELLOW FEVER CERTIFICATE Please ensure that all travel documents are valid and also verify what health requirements e.g vaccination are needed by the country you are traveling to. For any other medical requirements get advise from your doctor before traveling. Best Price Guarantee! Bison Safaris is so certain that we offer you the very best price on your Kenya safari that we are willing to pay you if you can find a better deal! Yes, that’s right! If you can find a better quote on any safari you have booked with Bison Safaris within 7 calendar days of booking we will not only match the price, but also give you a US$60 travel voucher to use as you wish. To really know that we have the best guarantee in price have a look at some of the things you need to check as you hunt out for quotes to compare . Season: Your travel dates can make a big difference to the total price of your safari. For example, it will cost a lot more to visit the Maasai Mara during the annual Migration (July to September) than it will to visit at another time of year. Make sure the travel dates match exactly the ones you booked. Camps and Lodges: Safari camps and lodges vary from basic to over-the-top luxury. Although two camps may look quite similar when you visit their websites, the standard of accommodation could be very different.When comparing quotes you need to make sure that you will be booked into the same lodge. Transport: Will you be driven to the National Park or are you choosing to save time by flying in? Have you asked for a safari van or a 4x4 Land Cruiser ? What about airport transfers? Are these included or do you have to hire a taxi on arrival? These things can make a big difference to your quote. Inclusions and Exclusions: This is probably the most important list to check. Some Camps and Lodges are Fully Inclusive while others may offer Full Board, but exclude all drinks. Likewise, some quotes may include exclusive-use game-viewing vehicles for your family or group while others may not. Other safari enhancements such as Cultural visits, Hot-air Balloon excursions and Bush Breakfasts, for instance, may be included on one quote but not the other In short we say that us Bison Safaris are the best in service delivery and best in price guarantee. We give that confidence and ensure you get value for your money .Cant be any better .

Sort by:

Write a review
"What an adventure!"
By: Alicia
Safari enthusiast
SpainSpain
6 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2019 Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2020

We used this agency for our travels in Kenya in July. This was our trip of a lifetime! The planning and knowledge about their clientele is their number one priority!! Our trip planner was outstanding!! She is knowledgeable, thoughtful, and precise when delivering her product! We can’t thank her enough. From the time we arrived in Nairobi to begin our trip until the time we left Jomo Kenyatta airport every single detail was amazing!! Just number one all the way!! Hopefully, we will return to this amazing country and can’t wait to work with this agency for future trips!

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited:Kenya
6People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Alicia
Safari enthusiast
SpainSpain
Countries visited:Kenya
Visited: Jul. 2019
Reviewed: Aug. 05, 2019

6People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Outstanding customer service"
By: Mary.A
Safari enthusiast
United Arab EmiratesUnited Arab Emirates
4 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2019 Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2020

From the airport transfers to accommodations in the amazing lodges, to exceptional tour guides, every step of the way was well planned out. There are so many wonderful and memorable parts of our trip, but the game drives would be our highlight. I will definitely book another safari with Bison. I highly recommend other travelers to use them.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited:Kenya
4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Mary.A
Safari enthusiast
United Arab EmiratesUnited Arab Emirates
Countries visited:Kenya
Visited: Dec. 2019
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2020

4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
" Phenomenal African safari adventure at its best!"
Safari enthusiast
SpainSpain
5 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jan. 2020 Reviewed: Nov. 07, 2020

Maggie and Lawrence were brilliant. They gave great suggestions and tailored an amazing itinerary for our safari. They were ever ready to respond to all our questions and emails. Our driver guide was very professional and knowledgeable. Accommodation and food in the lodges was great and the service was excellent. The game drives in the parks were the best, we got to see the big five among other wildlife and birds.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited:Kenya
5People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
SpainSpain
Countries visited:Kenya
Visited: Jan. 2020
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2020

5People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Beyond excellent"
Safari enthusiast
AustraliaAustralia
4 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jan. 2020 Reviewed: Nov. 05, 2020

Very professionally run company. All details were handled with expertise. A unique and memorable trip, nothing will ever compare to it. We couldn’t have asked for a better company to allow us to experience Kenya.I have nothing but the best things to say about the work of this travel team, their planning was impeccable; they know the regions and services, and they stay with you through the ups and downs of planning and delivering on what was promised.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited:Kenya
4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
AustraliaAustralia
Countries visited:Kenya
Visited: Jan. 2020
Reviewed: Feb. 03, 2020

4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Outstanding 5 star experience!"
Safari enthusiast
South AfricaSouth Africa
8 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2019 Reviewed: Nov. 05, 2020

I really enjoyed my trip with Bison Safaris. Very good and planned itinerary with reasonable costs. The safari accommodation was very well-chosen and made for an enriching and memorable holiday. Food was scrumptious and delicious. The guide was more than helpful responding to all our queries.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited:Kenya
8People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
South AfricaSouth Africa
Countries visited:Kenya
Visited: Jul. 2019
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2019

8People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"First class!"
By: Brooks
Safari enthusiast
NetherlandsNetherlands
4 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2019 Reviewed: Nov. 03, 2020

My experience with the Bison team was one in a lifetime. I had always dreamt of visiting Kenya and Bison made my dream come true with their budget joining safari. Our driver guide was exceptional; he knew how to spot the animals and had so much knowledge about them. We got to see the big five among other tons of animals and bird life not forgetting the vast beautiful landscapes and scenery. The overall trip was amazing, words can't define how incredible our safari was. Thanks Maggie and team.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited:Kenya
4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Brooks
Safari enthusiast
NetherlandsNetherlands
Countries visited:Kenya
Visited: Dec. 2019
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2020

4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Best safari!!!"
Safari enthusiast
United StatesUnited States
7 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2019 Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2020

My first time in the Masai Mara, Kenya and I loved everything about it. Talk about fiery sunsets, vast landscapes, great wilderness, flora, and fauna, Mara is just exceptional. Our guide was very knowledgeable and soft-spoken. I really enjoyed the game drives. If you're after the stereotypical big five safari, Mara offers this and so much more. Watching the spectacular wildebeest migration across the Mara River as predators prey on them is the most thrilling experience ever. Thanks to Bison Safaris and team for a trip well-planned.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited:Kenya
7People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
United StatesUnited States
Countries visited:Kenya
Visited: Jun. 2019
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2019

7People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"What an exhilarating experience!!!!"
Safari enthusiast
KenyaKenya
8 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2019 Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2020

My impression of Bison Safaris is one of an authentic, professional, unique and considerate tour operator who goes an extra mile to deliver exemplary service to its clients. Superb 8 days safari, very well organized with a great range of experiences; from the massive wildebeest migration to the game drives, balloon safaris and boat rides. It's an experience to remember. We had such a good time, the tour guide was very knowledgeable, amazing food and great accommodation. Thanks, Bison Safaris and team, you surpassed our expectations.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited:Kenya
8People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
KenyaKenya
Countries visited:Kenya
Visited: Jul. 2019
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2019

8People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Seamless and hassle free"
Safari enthusiast
SpainSpain
5 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2019 Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2020

Maggie and her team made this unquestionably the best trip of our lifetime. Our first safari experience in Masai Mara was an unforgettable. Planning our trip through Bison was hassle free and extremely easy. We were grateful that we had selected a company with such expertise and knowledge tailored to our choices. They were so easy to work with. They replied to all our queries and emails promptly, giving us lots of options. Maasai Mara was spectacular, from the big five to the breath-taking landscapes and abundant wildlife and birds. The safari was the most memorable.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited:Kenya
5People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
SpainSpain
Countries visited:Kenya
Visited: Nov. 2019
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2020

5People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Fantastic tour"
By: Austin
Safari enthusiast
United Arab EmiratesUnited Arab Emirates
8 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2019 Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2020

Our safari was excellent, from pick up at the airport to our last day. We did a 6 days safari with Bison Safaris and we had a rewarding experience. Thanks to the superb planning by Maggie and her team. The itinerary was well detailed capturing all our needs.Their attention to detail was extraordinary. James our driver guide was very helpful with spotting the animals. He indeed was very knowledgeable and professional. We got to see a pride of lions kill a zebra and tons of wildlife and birds. We left with so many memories. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect trip.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited:Kenya
8People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Austin
Safari enthusiast
United Arab EmiratesUnited Arab Emirates
Countries visited:Kenya
Visited: Dec. 2019
Reviewed: Jan. 09, 2020

8People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more