Savannah Explorers

7 reviews
Reviews: 7
Tour packages: 5 tours
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Photos: 24
Main focus: Mid-range
Established: 2013
Headquarters: Tanzania
Languages: English, Spanish, German, Italian, French, Dutch


Contact info

About Savannah Explorers

Savannah Explorers is an experienced tour operator for safari, trekking and beach holidays in Tanzania and East Africa. Savannah Explorers is an Italy-Tanzania joint venture. Roberto (Italy) and Greyson (Tanzania) continue and expand their experience with Savannah Explorers. Passion and experience are our strength. The company offers all types of safari, traditional driving safari to all Tanzanian national parks and other destinations in East Africa like Kenya and Uganda, mountain climbing, trekking expeditions, walking safari and beach holidays.

Sort by:

Write a review
"Exceeded all expectations!"
Safari enthusiast
United StatesUnited States
34 kudus
Photos (6)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2019 Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2020

Extraordinary trip! Roberto and his staff at Savannah Explorers are fabulous to work with! From our 1st considerations of a safari trip (about 18 months prior to the actual trip), Roberto was responsive and accessible. Over the course of several months, we considered a variety of at itineraries. We spoke with Roberto via WhatsApp several times to go over options and the differences in parks, etc. Once we chose an itinerary, Roberto gave us a schedule for a deposit that was several months out. That is in contrast to other tour groups who created artificial urgency, requiring us to make a decision and immediate payment, or lose options! As the guides from Savannah Explorers greeted us at the airport, they indicated that we were there at a perfect time! Low season! And dry season! We chose 3 parks over 10 days and had ample time to observe animal behavior in addition to seeing the animals and sites. The guides were knowledgeable, patient, and extraordinarily skilled at driving through the difficult terrain and at getting us access to the wildlife. They explained that, because the animals had not been hunted in the national parks, they were accustomed to the land cruisers’ proximity. We were able to observe lions eating a fresh kill, elephants knocking down trees, and giraffes reaching high into the canopy at very close distances. Not enough can be said about how extraordinary the wildlife is. Additionally, the staff we met were extraordinarily friendly and amazing hosts! While our trip was "mid-range on" cost, the facilities were unique and fabulous. We wanted to hire a tour company that was based in Tanzania directly, rather than to pay an American company to pay a Tanzanian company. Savannah Explorers were rated highly on the “Your African Safari” review website because of the way they treat their employees, their respect of the environment, their excellent travelers’ reviews and their participation in the safari community. Roberto shared with us that he personally hired each guide, choosing people in whose care he’d leave his own children. That bore out as Land Cruisers zoomed by us, while we enjoyed a slow and safe pace with plenty of opportunity to enjoy the view. We commented frequently that we felt so safe with our guides, in contrast to the other vehicles we encountered. Spending a lot more money would have had no impact on the quality of the experience with Savannah Explorers. Over 10 days, we were two nights in the Tarangire, two nights at the Ngorongoro Crater, and five nights in the Serengeti; taking a bush flight from the park to Arusha to maximize our time in the parks and minimize our time traveling from place to place. We thought that Tarangire would be a “filler” park. Instead, there is extraordinary variety and density of animals, and, when we go again, we will plan more time there. Dry season offered the opportunity to see a greater variety of animals while enjoying moderate temperate, beautiful weather and no bugs. Low season offered the opportunity to watch the animals without having to jockey around a lot of other vehicles and have limited time. This is an excellent trip for couples. There were 8 of us traveling, so we had 2 guides and 2 Land Cruisers. The 8 of us gathered for meals and once assigned a table, that was your table for the duration. We had 2 couples in each Land Cruiser, and rotated couples, so we had lots of time in smaller groups. And then we had plenty of time with our partner in the amazing, exotic accommodations. And, since we were in the great care of the guides, the only choice we had to make as a group was whether we wanted to be out on the drive all day, or whether we wanted to drive in the morning, return for lunch, and drive at dusk. There was no other decision about which we needed to reach consensus! So easy for a group! We found all of the accommodations to be excellent, as well. In Arusha, The Planet Lodge; in Tarangire, Tarangire Sopa Lodge; at the crater, Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge; and in the Serengeti, Tanzania Bush Camp. See our reviews of the accommodations on Trip Advisor. We wholeheartedly recommend Savannah Explores and will travel with them again.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited:Tanzania
7People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
United StatesUnited States
Countries visited:Tanzania
Visited: Sep. 2019
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2019

7People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"The parks of the north: great experience!"
Safari enthusiast
SwitzerlandSwitzerland
12 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Feb. 2015 Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2018

We had a six nights safari with Savannah Explorers and we had a great time. We visited Tarangire Park, Lake Manyara Park (we made a really nice night safari!), Serengeti and Ngorongoro. All the parks worth a visit: Tarangire for its spectacular landscapes, Lake Manyara for the forest, Serengeti for predators and its amazing and different landscapes, Ngorongoro because it's unique and fascinating. Savannah explorers was professional from our arrival until our departure. The choice of Lodges and Camping was perfect: we recommend in particular Tarangire Safari Lodge and Kati Kati camps (Tanganyka Wilderness camps). The guide (that spoke also a good Italian) was friendly and helpful. We saw all the big 5, a family of Cheetah, lots of other animals. It was great! Hope to come back one day!! Jambo!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited:Tanzania
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
SwitzerlandSwitzerland
Countries visited:Tanzania
Visited: Feb. 2015
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"5 National Parks - Grand Safari in Tanzania "
Safari enthusiast
United StatesUnited States
56 kudus
Photos (4)
Reviews (1)
Visited: May. 2014 Reviewed: Mar. 06, 2018

We highly recommend the Savannah Explorers team of experts in any safari planning you may be doing. We had a great time, great viewings in each park we visited, exceeded all our expectations. Our guide, Abdul, was very helpful, great driver, knowledgeable, and the prompt attention we received from Grayson & Roberto - the owners - was refreshing. We would certainly use them again and will recommend them to others.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited:Tanzania
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
United StatesUnited States
Countries visited:Tanzania
Visited: May. 2014
Reviewed: Jun. 09, 2014

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Amazing!!!"
By: Davide
Safari enthusiast
ItalyItaly
56 kudus
Photos (4)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Feb. 2014 Reviewed: Feb. 08, 2017

We spent six days traveling through the Serengeti park and the Ngorongoro crater, and we had the best trip of our life!! Everything was just perfect: detailed planning and organization with Roberto, nice and professional guide and driver, high quality accommodations in the midst of nature. We saw thousands of animals and all the Big 5!! The great migration is an unbelievable experience, and Savannah Explorer gave us the possibility to live it at its best!!!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited:Tanzania
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Davide
Safari enthusiast
ItalyItaly
Countries visited:Tanzania
Visited: Feb. 2014
Reviewed: Apr. 06, 2014

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Manyara, Serengeti, Ngorongoro: amazing safari!"
Safari enthusiast
GermanyGermany
12 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2014 Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2017

Our safari with Savannah Explorers was absolutely wonderful, we enjoyed every minute of it! Ibrahim, our guide, was excellent. He is a fantastic wildlife spotter who will see the ear of a lion sticking out of the grass at 1 km distance - amazing! He was also extremely good in positioning our vehicle always in the best position for observing and photographing, meaning he was excellent in anticipating the animal's behaviour. In addition we highly appreciated the professional but very unbureaucratic organization of this safari. Roberto always replied immediately to all our inquiries and changes of plan and this made it extremely easy for us. Thank you all for an overwhelming and unforgettable trip!!! We certainly recommend Savannah Explorers to everybody!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited:Tanzania
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
GermanyGermany
Countries visited:MadagascarSouth AfricaTanzania
Visited: Sep. 2014
Reviewed: Oct. 08, 2014

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Magical!! The best you can ask for."
Safari enthusiast
IsraelIsrael
73 kudus
Photos (5)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Feb. 2015 Reviewed: Jan. 01, 2017

We chose Savannah Explorers as our safari operator in Tanzania for 8 nights. That was a great decision in all aspects!!! Roberto the manager is a nice man. He is very responsible and taking the whole thing seriously. From the beginning, he gave us a very detailed plan and quickly answered with all the information we needed. We could feel he is much more serious than other safari operators we tried to talk with. The price was also better. The safari experience was magical! We had a private guide named Mdoe that was also our driver. Mdoe was amazing, very kind and professional. We saw many animals from all kinds thanks to him and he could answer any question. He was also a very good driver, we felt safe. All the accommodations we were in were very good. Actually we were even surprise from the very good level and great service. Part of the time we slept in tents that were very beautiful inside with private bathroom. We can sum up and say that we strongly recommend Savannah Explorers as safari operator. There was not even one bad thing to say about them. Savannah Explorers is the best you could find, don't think twice! And have fun in your safari!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited:Tanzania
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
IsraelIsrael
Countries visited:Tanzania
Visited: Feb. 2015
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Amazing trip from Kilimanjaro to Serengeti"
By: Fabio
Safari enthusiast
12 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2014 Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2016

Our 17 days trip has been very well organized in every details by Roberto, Greyson and the staff of Savannah Explorers. All tour guides (Richard and Rama for the Kilimanjaro and Paul and Joel for the safari) have proven to be extremely well prepared, competent and always ready to provide support in a professional and accurate way. In particular, we would like to underline the professional and personal skills of Paul, our tour guide for the safari, who has made our trip an amazing and unforgettable experience: Paul has always been available, flexible, ready to help us with any requests and an endless source of information regarding animals, environment and local people. Also Greyson and Roberto have always been available during the trip and ready to quickly support us in case of needs and additional requests. We definitely highly recommend to travel with Savannah. Deb, Vale, Massi e Fabio

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited:Tanzania
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Fabio
Safari enthusiast
Countries visited:Tanzania
Visited: Aug. 2014
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
YAScore: 72/100
Based on 7 reviews

Overall rating
Cleanliness of vehicle
Meet and greet team
Quality of itinerary
Responsiveness of staff
Park reviews written by None