Log In Join Us

Liwondé National Park reviews

3 reviews

If elephants are your favourite, Bushmans is the place

Views: 516 Visited: Nov 2015 Reviewed: Feb 23, 2016

I visited Liwonde for the first time in early November 2015. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Liwonde. I went on one game drive and one boat safari. The game drive was not particularly good - unfortunately, we didn't see much. Although we saw a hyena which is quite rare for Liwonde.

Although the game drive wasn't up to scratch the boat safari was incredible - it's great to get so close to hippos, crocs and elephants. It's a completely diffe... read more

Like this review?

Go on, give it a kudu!

13 People gave this
review kudus.
 

Rustic and real

Views: 652 Visited: Dec 2015 Reviewed: Jan 28, 2016

I had the pleasure of visiting Liwonde National Park in Malawi for two nights in December 2015. We stayed at 'Bushmans Camp' lodge, which I was very impressed with as a budget accommodation option. The food was particularly impressive. Wildlife could literally walk right through your camp at any point! I could have spent weeks on their viewing platform looking out at the elephants in the distance while sipping on a sundowner!

We also did a... read more

Like this review?

Go on, give it a kudu!

14 People gave this
review kudus.
 

Brilliant game drives in normally 'quiet' Malawi!

Views: 718 Visited: Apr 2012 Reviewed: May 18, 2013

After spending a week relaxing at the modest but good Lake Malawi Camp we decided to head to Liwonde as we were sorely missing our game drives! We based ourselves at the Liwonde Safari Camp which was just outside the park gates. Greta camp, BEST showers and yummy food AND an almost walk-through animal highway! Apparently the camp has since built a viewing platform but who needs that? Just sit outside your tent and wait long enough and elephant... read more

Like this review?

Go on, give it a kudu!

12 People gave this
review kudus.
 
Shortlisted tour operators: Operators: 1 You can shortlist up to 10 tour operators Up to 10 operators